some image

About Us

Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners carry out the responsibilities of the Commission as set out in The Human Rights Code. Commissioners are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor-in-Council and represent the geographic, cultural, social and economic profile of Manitoba.
The Commissioners provide strategic direction to the Commission.  They also have specific responsibilities with respect to complaints made under The Human Rights Code, and their decisions are reviewable by the Court of Queen's Bench.

Photo of Chairperson Brenlee Carrington TrepelChairperson, Brenlee Carrington Trepel is a lawyer, mediator and educator. As the Law Society of Manitoba’s first equity ombudsperson, she helped to educate on and resolve workplace human rights issues for the legal profession. She has a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B) from the University of Manitoba, where she was a sessional instructor. She received the MBA’s Equality and Community Involvement Awards. Recognized by LEAF National as one of 25 lawyers in Canada who advanced women’s equality, Brenlee has extensive community board experience and a designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors.



Photo of Vice-Chairperson John BurchillVice-Chairperson, John Burchill is the Manager, Strategic Issues with the Winnipeg Police Service.  He has a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice from Athabasca University, an LL.B. from the University of Manitoba and an LL.M. from Osgoode Hall, York University. He was a police officer for 25 years, six of which were spent as supervisor of the Hate Crimes Team.  Prior to re-joining the Winnipeg Police Service John worked as a Crown Attorney with Manitoba Justice and a Risk Manager with the University of Manitoba.



Photo of Loretta Ross Loretta Ross is a lawyer and the Treaty Relations Commissioner of Manitoba. She has an LL.B from Queens’ University. She has practiced law for over 20 years dealing with child and family matters, trust and corporate law, land claims and residential school claims and has acted as legal counsel to numerous First Nation governments and organizations. She is a member of the Hollow Water First Nation in Manitoba.  Loretta sits on numerous community boards including Marymound Inc. and the Families First Foundation.



Photo of Jeannette AchesonJeannette Acheson is a Parole Officer with the Correctional Service of Canada and has worked with them in a variety of positions since 1984. She has a B.A. with distinction in Criminology and Psychology from the U of M and is fluently bilingual.  She often acts as an expert witness for the Correctional Service of Canada in the area of Dangerous Offenders testifying in Manitoba and Ontario courts.  She has served as the Chair of the Board of Directors for The Laurel Centre, a treatment centre for women who were sexually abused as children, in Winipeg and continues to serve as an Honourary Board member. She is a Trustee for the Canadian Museum for Human Rights



photo of Diane DwarkaDiane Dwarka is a retired librarian and active community organizer and volunteer. She is currently President elect of the Women's Inter-Church Council of Canada and Chair of Red River College Alumni. She was President of the Council of Caribbean Organizations of Manitoba, Community Legal Education Association, and Manitoba Association for Multicultural Education.  Diane is the recipient of the YM-YWCA Women of Distinction Award, the Red River Distinguished Alumnus Award, the Premier's Award for Volunteerism, the B'nai Brith Human Rights Award and was the 2014 Folklorama Ambassador General.


Photo of Michael Reader Michael Reader is the Director of Capital Management for the Northern Regional Health Authority. He has worked with the NRHA since 2008 and has held various positions within the Union Executive of the Canadian Paperworkers Union. He worked with Tolko Kraft Papers and previous owners of The Pas paper mill for 28 years as an Industrial Electrician & 3rd Class Power Engineer.  He is Métis and was born and raised in The Pas. Mike enjoys all aspects of northern living and is an avid outdoorsman.



Photo of Ian Grant Ian Grant is former Chief of Police with the City of Brandon- Brandon Police Service. He has a B.A. from Memorial University and a Masters in Rural Development from Brandon University. Ian also holds an Honorary Diploma in Police Studies from Assiniboine Community College.  He began his policing career with the RCMP in 1980 and in 1985 joined the Brandon Police Service. He played a key role in the development of The Missing Persons Act during a secondment with the Province of Manitoba.  Ian has been involved with several boards including Sisters in Spirit Walk Organizing Committee and Community Mobilization Westman.


Photo of Tracy LeipsicTracy Leipsic is a speed skating coach with the River Heights Speed Skating Club, coaching all levels of athletes including beginner, Provincial teams, Masters and Special Olympics athletes. She has a Business Administration diploma from Red River Community College and is a Canadian Accredited Insurance Broker with 17 years of experience in the insurance industry. She is the Vice President, Finance of the Manitoba Speed Skating Association, and has been involved with the 2017 Canada Summer Games, Canadian Sport Centre MB, Revolution Diving Club andWinnipeg Jewish Child & Family Services.


    Human Rights Seminars

    Learn more about sessions scheduled in your area.



    Learn more about things like discrimination against persons with disabilities who use service animals, discrimination on the basis of gender identity and the principles of reasonable accommodation.


    30 years of The Human Rights Code

    Read more about the human rights milestones over the last 30 years of The Human Rights Code in Manitoba.